exaroton is the paid, pay-per-use Minecraft hosting service launched in 2020 by Aternos GmbH (Bonn, Germany), billed in credits at 1 credit (EUR 0.01) per GB of RAM per hour of runtime.
Java
Bedrock
Modded
NVMe
DDoS
CPU
AMD Ryzen 9950X or similar
RAM range
2 to 16 GB
Locations
Not disclosed
Refund
14 days
Support
Not disclosed
Minecraft Hosts score
5.5/10
Overall score
Price and valueNot rated
No comparable monthly no-commitment price: not rated.
Performance2/10
CPU model not published · NVMe storage
Community reviews7.6/10
Trustpilot: 3.8/5 from 81 reviews (checked on October 10, 2026)
Minecraft features10/10
Confirmed: Java Edition, Bedrock Edition, Paper, mods (Forge, Fabric or NeoForge), modpacks, included backups
Support and guarantees6/10
support hours not published · 3 contact channel(s) · refund available · free trial or plan
Network and locations2/10
locations not disclosed · anti-DDoS
Score calculated automatically from the data on this page and the public Trustpilot rating, using a published method. Undisclosed information earns no points. How the score works
Our review
Analysis written by Valentin for Minecraft Hosts from the plans and information published by exaroton, checked on October 9, 2026. This is not a hands-on test.
Verdict
exaroton is the paid service of Aternos GmbH, the German company behind the free host Aternos. It has no monthly plans: you pay 1 credit, or EUR 0.01, per GB of RAM for each hour the server is actually running, from 2 to 16 GB. That model is cheap for a group that plays a few evenings a week, but a server kept online around the clock costs about EUR 14.60 per month for 2 GB and EUR 58.40 for 8 GB. Storage is capped at 10 GB per server and only two broad regions are offered.
Pros
Billed per second of runtime: 1 credit (EUR 0.01) per GB of RAM per hour, rounded up to 0.01 credit
RAM adjustable from 2 to 16 GB at any time, same price in Europe and North America
AutoStop and AutoStart (start by joining) to avoid paying for an empty server
5 free credits at sign-up, no payment method required
Limitations
Expensive if kept online 24/7: about EUR 14.60 per month for 2 GB and EUR 58.40 for 8 GB (730 hours)
Storage capped at 10 GB per server
Only two broad regions (Europe, North America), no city published
No FTP access: files are managed through the web panel (uploads up to 3 GB)
CPU cores are shared (0.5 core per GB of RAM), hardware not guaranteed
Best for
Groups that play a few hours a week: 10 hours on 4 GB cost 40 credits, or EUR 0.40
Players moving up from Aternos: the panel imports Aternos servers
Friends who want to split the bill: credit pools let several accounts fund one server
Less suited if
Servers that must stay online 24/7: a fixed monthly plan is usually cheaper
Large worlds or big modpacks: storage is limited to 10 GB per server
Players in Asia, Oceania or South America: only Europe and North America are offered
Pricing and billing
Each credit is worth EUR 0.01 and a running server costs 1 credit per GB of RAM per hour. Usage is measured to the second and rounded up to the next hundredth of a credit, so half an hour on 4 GB costs 2 credits. The price is the same in both regions. Each server also has a storage fee of 10 credits per 30 days, reduced by every credit spent running it, so it is free once you play 10 credit-hours in the period. If the account cannot pay the storage fee, the server is deleted. As a guide, 730 hours of continuous use cost about EUR 14.60 for 2 GB, EUR 29.20 for 4 GB and EUR 58.40 for 8 GB. Credits are sold through Paddle or Tebex; the site does not say whether VAT is included.
Performance
The support centre says the main nodes use an AMD Ryzen 9950X with DDR5-5600 RAM and enterprise NVMe storage in RAID, "or similar" hardware, which is not guaranteed during busy periods. CPU cores are shared: 0.5 core per GB of RAM, so 2 cores for a 4 GB server. Each server is limited to 10 GB of storage because it is moved between storage and a host node at every start and stop. Nodes have at least 2 Gbit/s of network capacity. Regions are only described as Europe and North America, and no city is published.
Minecraft features
Java servers can run Vanilla, Snapshot, Paper, Purpur, Spigot, Forge, NeoForge, Fabric, Quilt and Arclight, and Bedrock servers can run Vanilla, Preview and Nukkit. More than 500 modpacks install in one click, and custom server software or modpacks can be uploaded. The custom panel includes AutoStop, AutoStart when a player joins, a Discord bot, an API, custom domains, shared access, credit pools and an Aternos import. Backups are stored in your own Google Drive, OneDrive or Dropbox account. There is no FTP access; files go through the web file manager, with uploads limited to 3 GB, and uploads are not available during the free trial.
Support and guarantees
Support is offered by ticket, email, Telegram, Facebook and on the Discord server; no opening hours or response times are published. New accounts get 5 free credits without a payment method, enough for 2.5 hours on 2 GB, with some features such as file uploads locked until the first purchase. A credit purchase can be refunded within 14 days if the credits are still in the account. Servers whose storage fee cannot be paid are deleted, and support cannot restore them, so the backup feature matters. The operator is Aternos GmbH in Bonn, Germany.
Plans
Prices as published by the host, checked on October 9, 2026.
Checked on 2026-10-09 on exaroton.com (home page with pricing, features, regions and supported software), the official support centre support.exaroton.com (Pricing, Free Trial, Allocated resources and hardware, Server region, Transactions, Server deletion, Maximum allowed server size, Uploading files, Contact support articles), the exaroton terms of service and the Aternos GmbH company and imprint pages on aternos.gmbh.
Pricing model: no monthly plan. 1 credit = EUR 0.01 (support article "Pricing"); the home page converts "100 credits" with a script, whose default is EUR 0.01 per credit. Usage costs 1 credit per GB (GiB in the terms) of RAM per hour, calculated per second and rounded up to the next hundredth of a credit. The plans recorded (2, 4, 8 and 16 GB) are examples within the published 2 to 16 GB range; the RAM step size is not stated. periodPrice = hourly price in EUR derived from the published credit value.
Storage fee: 10 credits per server per 30 days, reduced by every credit used to run the server (free from 10 credits of usage in the period). If the fee cannot be paid, the server is deleted.
VAT: credits are sold by Paddle or Tebex; no statement on VAT inclusion was found. Status "unknown".
Free trial: 5 credits at sign-up without a payment method; freeTrialHours = 2.5, calculated as 5 credits / 2 GB minimum RAM. Some features (file uploads) are locked during the trial; trial servers are deleted 30 days after the credits run out if no credits are bought.
CPU: the hardware article says "AMD Ryzen 9950X CPU" on the main nodes and "AMD RYZEN 9950X CPUs or similar", not guaranteed. Recorded as written ("or similar"). 0.5 shared CPU core per GB of RAM (vcores recorded accordingly), DDR5-5600, NVMe in RAID, network 2 to 20 Gbit/s per node.
Regions: only "Europe" and "North America"; the support centre says broad regions are used instead of specific cities. No datacenter recorded. The support article "Lags" (shared with Aternos) still says servers are hosted "in different data centers in Europe", which contradicts the North America region.
Files: the support centre states "exaroton does not support FTP" (web file manager only, uploads limited to 3 GB); sftp recorded as false.
Refunds: purchases can be refunded within 14 days if the corresponding credits are still in the account (terms of service, section 3). Support channels: Discord, tickets, email, Telegram and Facebook (Telegram and Facebook not representable in the data).
Founded: Aternos GmbH timeline "30 July 2020: Release exaroton". Player limit per server not published.